Coinbase, Exchanges

Does Coinbase Delete Old Accounts?

As of December 31, 2019, Coinbase will no longer support accounts that have been inactive for more than 12 months. This means that if you have not logged in or interacted with your account in any way for more than a year, your account will be considered “inactive” and will be subject to deletion.

Coinbase is taking this action in order to comply with new regulations from the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN), which requires cryptocurrency exchanges to collect and report information about their customers’ activity.

If you have an inactive Coinbase account, you will be contacted by email and given 30 days to log in and confirm your identity. If you do not log in or confirm your identity during that time, your account will be deleted and all funds within it will be lost.

If you have an active Coinbase account but have not logged in or interacted with it for more than 12 months, you will also be contacted by email and given 30 days to log in and confirm your identity. However, unlike inactive accounts, active accounts that are not verified within 30 days will not be deleted but will be restricted from buying or selling cryptocurrencies.

To avoid having your Coinbase account deleted or restricted, simply log in and confirm your identity before December 31, 2019. After that date, only accounts that have been verified within the past 12 months will be allowed to buy or sell cryptocurrencies.

In conclusion, any Coinbase account that has been inactive for more than 12 months and has not been verified by the owner during that time period will be subject to deletion. However, active accounts that are not verified within 30 days will only be restricted from buying or selling cryptocurrencies, and will not be deleted outright.

Previous ArticleNext Article